Tags

, , , , ,

Salt gets a really bad rap from mass media and I’m here to say that the truth is just a bit distorted and here is why.  The negative media that surrounds salt involves research of refined table salt and the symptoms that it brings.  Refined table/sea salt has been processed by high heat and the addition of bromine and anti-caking chemicals which allows for easy pouring of the salt.  As a result the structure of salt is completely denatured and our bodies become temporarily confused upon consumption.  The body tries to adapt to the unnatural ratio of sodium and chlorine without any additional minerals to balance it.  This creates a dehydrating effect by drawing water out of the cells, causing premature cell death, accelerating the aging process and encouraging cellulite development.  Including this type of salt in any diet generates a soupy blood viscosity that doesn’t exactly promote health.

Real sea salt is wet and sticky like that found in Celtic sea salt.  Celtic sea salt is delicious and is sold in both coarse and finely ground consistency.  I suppose kosher salt may be superior to table salt, but its quality doesn’t compare to that found in Celtic or Pink Himalayan sea salt.  Again, most salt is highly processed whether by the addition of chemicals, exposure to extreme heat and/or the lack of essential trace minerals.  Pink Himalayan sea salt is sun dried, has approximately 84 trace minerals and is one of the purest salts on earth!  Minerals serve as electrolytes, co-factors for enzymes enhancing metabolic function and repair, a buffer for blood to reach an optimal pH range (7.35 – 7.45), hydration, it helps decrease blood pressure…this is one of those nutrients that we can go on and on about.  Essentially, salt is fundamental.

If bought in bulk one could get a really good deal on an obnoxious bag like this one.  I don’t think a 22lb bag of Pink Himalayan sea salt is excessive because it will always get used.  It’s important to note that these salts do not contain an iodine additive.  Iodine should be supplemented by other means.   I use a Nascent Iodine supplement which I’ll cover in the future – this blog is salt specific.

Historically, salt was a most prized commodity.  It’s been called a “gift from the gods”, “white gold” and Homer referred to it as a “divine substance”.  It was thought to be holy and sacred. Even major trade routes were created for the purpose of salt barter.  Roman soldiers were paid in the form of salt as their salary from the Latin word salarium meaning sal or salt.  Salt was and still is used today for preserving meats, fish and vegetables – only today the lower quality salt is used in most packaged goods hence the bad media surrounding salt.

When I began my path to health and wellness I completely removed all salts from my diet for an entire month to remove the toxic mimic of salt from my blood and drank ample amounts of water.  Afterwards, I introduced real salt into my daily spring water to increase hydration because where water travels minerals follow.  One could also add it to their cup of coffee in the morning or sprinkle it onto their food after the act of cooking/heating to maintain the structural integrity of the salt.  The body burns through salt and minerals during high stress situations so I make sure I add more salt into my diet during these times although I try to avoid this silent killer like the plague.  I add salt to my pre and post work out drinks and shakes.  I use a salt rinse instead of mouth wash.  I think you get it.  I like to get salty.

